PBC, Portal Hypertension, and a Bloody Inconvenient Route

My last post before my world changed on August 28 was “Another Bloody August. Mysteries and Muddles. And Hospitalists” about my second sudden gastric bleed in two years and my second misdiagnosis by Huntsville Hospitalists and GIs who insist I simply have bleeding ulcers and refuse to consider portal hypertension, a common complication of liver failure, which is the end result of primary biliary cirrhosis.

If you are new to this blog, you are likely confused. One of my recurring subjects is my life with primary biliary cirrhosis, an autoimmune disorder that causes the bile ducts to self-destruct; the back-up of bile leads to cirrhosis, and cirrhosis to liver failure. At the top of my homepage I recently added a link to a permanent page listing both my postings on this subject and some of the most useful websites I’ve come across. I’ve considered pulling these posts and putting them in their own blog, but for now, they are staying here.

I write about this because it is a rare enough disease that firsthand accounts of living with the illness year after year are hard to come by. The blog format gives a new opportunity to illness diarists, a sort of real-time history of our decline. Readers can extract only the posts tagged PBC and see a sort of sped-up version. Like in my case, my first post about having PBC was two years ago, November 13, 2009,  Varicose Veins in my Esophagus? when I was surprised on my annual visit to Kirklin Clinic to learn I’d have to start having endoscopies to check for esophageal varices. Then I decided it was time to write about this illness because I wasn’t going to be able to ignore it forever.

I was right about that; in August 2010 I had a bleed requiring 4 transfusions, and this year another requiring just 2 transfusions. That one landed me in the ICU, however (two weeks later that creep beat the hell out of my daughter, by the way. He knew I’d been very sick. Prince of a fella, that one. I digress).

This August, the Huntsville Hospital staff GI did an endoscopy 20 hours after the bleed and decided I had ulcers. After all, I had had them last year. Only I hadn’t.  In September I visited another GI in Huntsville who determined that portal hypertension, not bleeding ulcers, was the culprit; he started me on beta blockers. Then in October I took a little break from the domestic violence battles to have another endoscopy by the good man Dr. Brendan McGuire of UAB down at the Kirklin Clinic. He rubberbanded several large varices that could have burst, essentially destroying the vessels.

So yesterday, fresh from the non-trial debacle, it was time to return to Kirklin for my annual November pow-wow and bloodletting with McGuire.

I was worried that I was going to find out that my PBC had advanced since I had had a second portal hypertension burst varices bleed.

But no, my blood chemistry remains stable for a person with PBC.

So why the bleeds?

It’s a mechanical issue, according to Dr. McGuire. The blood wants to get up to the heart and lungs. It wants to go through the liver, but the PBC has blocked its usual routes. It could decide to take stronger, wider vessels in my back, for example, as its detour route. But no, instead my blood has chosen to detour through my stomach and esophagus, taking routes that can’t handle that volume of traffic, stressing vessels not meant to handle such loads. When these routes are stressed to the breaking point, they break, and the endoscopy road crew has to come and clean up the mess and patch up the leaks, About the only thing otherwise that can be done is routine maintenance — that is, endoscopy to check out potential problems and band the varices — block the routes — before they have a chance to burst.

So April I’ll have another endoscopy. And who knows, maybe I won’t have a third consecutive bloody August. That would be nice.

 

3 thoughts on “PBC, Portal Hypertension, and a Bloody Inconvenient Route

  1. Thank you a lot for sharing this with all people you really understand what you’re talking approximately! Bookmarked. Please additionally discuss with my site =). We can have a link exchange agreement between us

  2. How timely your comment proved — hope you saw my post last week, regarding bleed # 3. I’ve bounced back but am waiting still for the camera endoscopy results.

  3. Hello,
    I googled portal hypertension because I too have PBC. That’s how I found you. In fact, I had posted on the PBC Awareness Group on facebook earlier today about my fears of varices and portal hypertension. Enjoyed your writing. Joanie,,

Leave a Reply

