Is Carol M. Highsmith the Most Generous Artist of Our Time?

100,000 public domain digital images:  That is the estimated number of images  that Carol M. Highsmith (b. 1946) will one day have provided the public for their personal, educational, or commercial use all for the price of a credit line.  Since 1992, Carol M. Highsmith has donated her work and assigned her rights to the Library of Congress, and in 2002 began providing digital scans or digital photos, which will speed up the archiving of her images.  So far, over 2500  photos have been posted on the Library’s Prints and Photographs Online Catalog’s Highsmith Archive, and thousands more are in process.

Continue reading here.

13 thoughts on “Is Carol M. Highsmith the Most Generous Artist of Our Time?

  1. Wow that was strange. I just wrote an really long comment but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t show up. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again.
    Regardless, just wanted to say excellent blog!

  2. Heya i am for the first time here. I found this board and I to
    find It truly helpful & it helped me out a lot. I hope to present something again and aid others
    like you helped me.

  3. Hi my friend! I want to say that this article is amazing, nice written and
    come with approximately all important infos. I would like to
    peer extra posts like this .

  4. Nice post. I learn something totally new and challenging on sites I stumbleupon everyday.
    It’s always interesting to read through articles from other writers and practice a little something from their websites.

  5. I had the opportunity to follow Carol around when she was shooting my building. What a wonderful person and a great artist.

  6. Thank you so much for this lovely note.

    I greatly admire your work and your philosophy, and I believe you are the most generous artist in America.

    And your taking the time to write me — such generosity of spirit is exceptional.

  7. Thank you for running this feature about my work. Yes, I am dedicated to leaving behind a large body of work depicting America during the turn of the 21st Century just as Frances Benjamin Johnston did 100 years ago. 90% of my collection is either on 4×5 film or my current 39 megapixel Phase One camera. I work in large format so that 100 years from now people can study each image and see the detail. There was a book published about Ms. Johnston entitled “A Talent for Detail” and since she is my mentor, I want to follow exactly in her footsteps.
    I travel throughout America most of the year documenting everything and often going way out of my way to catch something small or special that I think might be appreciated 200 – 2000 years from now. Route 66, back roads, small town America, urban neighborhoods, national parks, aerials and much more. I love what I do.

Leave a Reply

